Handheld Cellphone Use Banned While Driving
The use of handheld cellphones while driving will be outlawed in Michigan, effective June 30, 2023. Motorists will still be able to use hands-free devices. This new law expands Michigan’s ban on texting, placing calls and scrolling on social media while driving.
Penalties for distracted driving will increase and are as follows:
- First Offense: $100 and/or 16 hours of community service.
- Subsequent Offenses: $250 and/or 24 hours of community service.